– Jefferson Nickel (1938 to Date)

The Jefferson Nickel, minted from 1938 to the present day, is one of the most enduring and widely circulated coin series in United States history. 

Designed by Felix Schlag, a German-born artist, the Jefferson Nickel replaced the beloved Buffalo Nickel and introduced a modern and iconic design featuring one of America's most revered founding fathers. 

The obverse of the Jefferson Nickel features a left-facing profile of Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States and the principal author of the Declaration of Independence. 

Jefferson's profile is accompanied by the inscription "IN GOD WE TRUST" to the right and the motto "LIBERTY" to the left. 

The reverse of the coin features Monticello, Thomas Jefferson's historic plantation home in Virginia, set against a backdrop of trees and foliage. Below Monticello is the denomination "FIVE CENTS," while above is the motto "E PLURIBUS UNUM."  

The design is simple yet elegant, with a focus on capturing the beauty and grandeur of one of America's most iconic landmarks. 

During its production, the Jefferson Nickel has undergone several modifications, including changes in the placement of the mintmark and adjustments to the design elements to improve striking quality. 

Collecting Strategies: Collectors may pursue various strategies when acquiring the 1885-CC Morgan Dollar. Some aim to assemble a complete set of Morgan Dollars, including all mint marks and major varieties. 

stay updated