– Roosevelt Dime (1946 to Date)

The Roosevelt Dime, minted from 1946 to the present day, holds a special place in American numismatic history as a tribute to one of the nation's most beloved presidents, Franklin D. Roosevelt. 

Designed by John R. Sinnock, the Chief Engraver of the United States Mint, the Roosevelt Dime features a dignified and enduring design that reflects the spirit and values of its namesake. 

The obverse of the Roosevelt Dime features a left-facing bust of Franklin D. Roosevelt, the 32nd President of the United States, who served from 1933 until his death in 1945. 

The inscription "IN GOD WE TRUST" is inscribed to the right of Roosevelt's profile, and the date of mintage is located below. 

On the reverse of the coin is an image of a torch, symbolizing freedom and enlightenment, flanked by olive branches, representing peace.  

The inscription "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA" is above the design, and the denomination "ONE DIME" is below. The design is simple yet powerful, evoking a sense of patriotism and resilience. 

The Roosevelt Dime was initially minted using a composition of 90% silver and 10% copper, similar to its predecessors. However, beginning in 1965, the composition was changed to a copper-nickel clad alloy due to rising silver prices.  

During its production, the Roosevelt Dime underwent several modifications, including changes in the size and style of lettering, as well as adjustments to the design elements to improve striking quality. 

stay updated