– Washington D.C. and U.S. Territories Quarters (2009)

In 2009, the United States Mint launched the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories Quarters Program as a continuation of the successful 50 State Quarters Program. 

This program aimed to honor the District of Columbia and the five U.S. territories: Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands.  

The obverse of the coins featured the standard left-facing bust of George Washington, the first President of the United States, as designed by John Flanagan. This familiar image remained consistent across all the coins in the series. 

On the reverse of each coin was a design unique to the respective territory being honored. Each design was selected through a process involving input from the public and consultation with local officials to accurately represent the history, culture, and significant landmarks of each territory.  

The District of Columbia and U.S. Territories Quarters Program generated considerable interest and excitement among collectors and the general public, much like the previous 50 State Quarters Program.  

Many people actively sought out the quarters to complete sets or commemorate their connections to the featured territories. 

These quarters were minted using a copper-nickel clad alloy, making them suitable for circulation. Additionally, special proof and silver proof versions of the coins were also produced for collectors, featuring enhanced finishes and higher-quality compositions. 

The District of Columbia and U.S. Territories Quarters Program served as both a celebration of America's diverse cultural heritage and a means of educating people about the unique history and significance of the District of Columbia and the U.S. territories. 

Despite these challenges, the Carson City Mint persevered and eventually became known for its distinctive "CC" mint mark, which graced a variety of coins minted there. Today, coins bearing the "CC" mint mark are highly sought after by collectors, with the 1873-CC Seated Liberty Dime without arrows holding a special place among them. 

stay updated